2020 Finalists for Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship

Share This Post:

Henry County Community Foundation Announces 2020 Finalists for Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship

The finalists for the Henry County Community Foundation 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are Rylee Johnson, Shenandoah High School; Alexandra LaMar, Blue River Valley High School; Emma-Kate Moore, Knightstown High School; Tytus Ragle, New Castle High School; Eli Richards, Hagerstown High School; and Isaiah Steele, Tri High School.

Every graduating senior attending Blue River Valley, Hagerstown, Knightstown, New Castle, Shenandoah, Tri and Union high schools, who is also a Henry County resident, is eligible to apply for the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. Each high school nominates one student to represent their school in the Henry County Community Foundation’s scholarship selection process. After the Foundation’s scholarship committee from outside the county narrows the field to one nominee and two alternates, their names are forwarded to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the final selection of Henry County’s 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar, who will be notified by ICI in December. The finalists who are not selected as Henry County’s Lilly Endowment Community Scholar will each receive one-time $1,000 scholarship awards from the Henry County Community Foundation for being chosen to represent their school.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. This scholarship is the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to 1) help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit, and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. There are 143 scholarships awarded statewide.